If your opponent has Brisella, can you still play cards with morph face down for 3?

Since it is 0 in your hand you never get the opportunity to cast it regardless of what you want to cast it for.

Here are the relevant rules

601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell includes proposal of the spell (rules 601.2a-d) and determination and payment of costs (rules 601.2f-h). To cast a spell, a player follows the steps listed below, in order. A player must be legally allowed to cast the spell to begin this process, ignoring any effect that would prohibit that spell from being cast based on information determined during that spell's proposal. (Such effects are considered during the check detailed in rule 601.2e.) [...]

601.2a. To propose the casting of a spell, a player first moves that card (or that copy of a card) from where it is to the stack. [...]

601.2e. The game checks to see if the proposed spell can legally be cast. [...]

/r/magicTCG Thread Parent