Rule 79 - Hand Pass

The issue is that, while you're right it's a judgment call, it's very difficult to make the argument that any sane, reasonable person could have the opinion that Meier batting the puck with his hand did not result in "an advantage" for the offending team, which is the second of two possible criterion for play being blown dead.

So you're right, it is a judgment call. But either the refs are bat-shit fucking crazy to have the opinion that the Sharks didn't get an advantage, or they just flat out missed the call.

The latter seems vastly more likely. Although, with how bad the officiating has been this post season, the former is starting to seem less and less ridiculous...

/r/hockey Thread Parent