Before Combat Jiu-Jutsu Was Cool, Here is Nate Diaz and RDA, Slapping the Shit Out of Each Other

No, rule was changed in 2009

REMOVED AS A FOUL- Throwing in the towel during competition

A fighter’s corner, at the Commission’s discretion, should have the option to retire his fighter in the quickest and most efficient manner possible, during competition. A corner person having worked alongside a fighter may recognize and accept what their fighter’s capabilities are from past experience. It makes sense from a safety perspective to allow a corner to retire the fighter. If there is consideration that debris in the form of a towel entering the ring or cage may contribute to a disruption or confusion in the contest, then colored towels or special towels might be a consideration to be used.

/r/MMA Thread Parent Link -