People who took a second job to pay off debt: what was it and what was the difference in pay between main job and second job?

I recently quit my second job, after working two jobs for a year. Prior to that, I was going to school full time and working full time, so essentially the equivalent of two jobs.

My part time job was house managing a local theatre. I made $9.50 an hour, and averaged around 17 hours a week. There were some weeks where I'd get as high as 25 hours.

My full time job is a nine to five assistant property manager gig. I'm an independent contractor making $13 an hour here, in addition to making passive commission on every property in the portfolio I assist with. I am on track for a wage increase soon, as soon as we acquire another ten properties in this portfolio. In this position, I'll max out at $17 an hour, though I'm honestly hoping to move up to property manager and have a portfolio of my own before I max out at my current position.

I got super burned out working two jobs. I didn't have time to breathe. I'd leave my house at eight and not get home till eleven at night. Rinse and repeat. Never had days off, because I'd work between eight and twelve hour days every weekend for the theatre, then work my day job during the week. I'd also do two or three hour shifts at the theatre during the week.

I didn't have time for hobbies. I didn't have time for my girlfriend or friends. I didn't have time to really make plans for the rest of my life. Quitting was the best thing I could have done for myself, even though I miss having the extra $300-500 a month. But now, I can really focus in setting myself up for the future. I don't want to spend my entire life working multiple jobs that, combined, net me maybe $25,000 a year. So, I'm really focusing on increasing my skill set and value as a property manager. I love the job and I love my company, so it's better for me in the long run to make myself valuable to them and move up the ranks there.

For reference, I'm 25 years old, just over a year out of college. My bachelor's was in theatre, so basically useless. I was a high school dropout and I got some lucky breaks. I graduated with $11,000 in student loans, and I am now sitting on $8500. I currently have $1000 of credit card debt due to a couple emergencies cropping up. My emergency savings was depleted previously due to other emergencies. Without the extra income from my second job, it'll take me most of this year to get back on top of things, but it's still worth it to have time to breathe.

/r/personalfinance Thread